Committees

By-Laws:

This committee reviews and keeps current the organization’s by-laws and handles business aspects of the board.
Chairperson: Lori Swanson
Members: 
For more information about this committee email: bylaws@njawr.com

Education:

This committee provides continuing education opportunities such as skills courses, workshops and the distribution of educational information, including the newsletter.
Chairperson: Heather Evans
Members: Jane Rakos-Yates, Melissa Anahory, Heather Freeman, Lori Swanson, Adriana Manchen, Rene Brown, Michael O’Malley
For more information about this committee email: education@njawr.com

Legislative:

This committee works on regulatory changes and is responsible for keeping the membership current on new and pending legislative issues that effect wildlife.
Chairperson: Kelsey Lawler
Members: Jeanne Gural, Denise Hassinger, Adriana Manchen, Tracy Leaver, Diane Nickerson, Maki Murakami
For more information about this committee email: legislative@njawr.com

Membership

The membership committee is responsible for developing new members and keeping our members active and informed on NJAWR materials and events. Also responsible for NJAWR newsletter, web, and social media.
Chairpersons: Adriana Manchen and Jane Rakos-Yates
Members: Jane Rakos-Yates, Lori Swanson, Heather Freeman, Melissa Anahory, Lourdes Karatz, Kim Nagelhout
For more information about this committee email: membership@njawr.com

Nominating:

Chaired by the Vice President, the nominating committee reviews nominees for the board.
Chairperson: Melissa Anahory
Members: Heather Freeman
For more information about this committee email: nominating@njawr.com

Medical/Research:

To help standardize wildlife rehabilitation based on evidence and science by conducting, supporting and publicizing research on NJ wildlife and by conducting outreach activities to NJ rehabilitators, wildlife veterinarians and other wildlife professionals.
Chairperson: Adriana Manchen and Maki Murakami
Consultants: Karen Dashfield, DVM, Erica Miller, DVM
Members: Jane Rakos-Yates, Mike O’Malley, Nicole Golden, Heather Evans
For more information about this committee email: research@njawr.com